Hand-Colored Photographs

Hand-Colored Photographs

Exhibit at the Dayton Art Institute: Hand-Colored Photographs March 23–September 22, 2024, James M. Cox Gallery, Gallery 118

Event details

Address: 456 Belmonte Park North, Dayton, OH 45405 [Map/directions]
Add to Google calendar Fri, May 24 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sat, May 25 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sun, May 26 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Wed, May 29 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Thu, May 30 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Add to Google calendar Fri, May 31 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sat, Jun 01 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, May 24 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, May 25 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, May 26 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, May 29 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, May 30 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, May 31 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jun 01 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jun 02 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jun 05 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jun 06 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Jun 07 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jun 08 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jun 09 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jun 12 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jun 13 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Jun 14 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jun 15 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jun 16 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jun 19 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jun 20 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Jun 21 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jun 22 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jun 23 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jun 26 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jun 27 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm

Hand-Colored Photographs

When photography was officially invented in 1839, it consisted of black-and-white photographs, but photographers began to add hand-coloring almost immediately. They did this for a variety of reasons, although it was often to make their subjects “more lifelike.” Some people wanted to make photographs appear more like paintings, in part so they may be accepted as fine art—although this wouldn’t happen broadly until the mid-twentieth century. As opposed to more expensive oil paintings, photographs became a much easier way for many Americans to own visual art or family portraits. The prevalence of hand-colored photography declined with the advent of widely available and reliable color photography around the 1960s.

As unique objects that combine the skill sets of photographers and painters, hand-colored photographs incorporate many photographic subjects, formats and sizes. This exhibition features portrait, landscape, still life and advertising photographs across a variety of processes, including tintypes, salt prints, platinum prints and gelatin silver prints. Hand colorists (typically uncredited women) ranged from professionals in a studio setting to amateurs at home, using colored pigments, dyes, oils, pencils, pastels and watercolors.

Featured Image: Artist(s) Unknown (American), UNTITLED [ONE YEAR OF AGE], 20th Century, Hand-colored gelatin silver print, Gift of Peter J. Cohen, 2023.335.35

Dayton Art Institute

Hand-Colored Photographs is taking place at Dayton Art Institute, which is located at 456 Belmonte Park North in Dayton. Dayton Art Institute - Committed to enriching the community by creating meaningful experiences with art that are available to all. Visit us often to enjoy our diverse collections, world class exhibits and more.

Dayton Events Calendar

While we strive to provide accurate and up-to-date information on Dayton Local, we cannot guarantee its completeness or absence of errors. Your use of this website signifies your acceptance of our terms & conditions. To report any inaccuracies or provide feedback, please send us a note. Thank you.