Captivating Clay: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics from the Horvitz Collection

Captivating Clay: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics from the Horvitz Collection

Special Exhibition at the Dayton Art Institute April 13–September 22, 2024, Gallery 106 Captivating Clay: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics from the Horvitz Collection

Event details

Address: 456 Belmonte Park North, Dayton, OH 45405 [Map/directions]
Add to Google calendar Sat, Jul 13 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sun, Jul 14 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Wed, Jul 17 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Thu, Jul 18 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Add to Google calendar Fri, Jul 19 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sat, Jul 20 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Sun, Jul 21 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Wed, Jul 24 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Add to Google calendar Thu, Jul 25 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Sat, Jul 13 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jul 14 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jul 17 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jul 18 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Jul 19 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jul 20 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jul 21 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jul 24 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Jul 25 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Jul 26 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Jul 27 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Jul 28 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Jul 31 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Aug 01 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Aug 02 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Aug 03 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Aug 04 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Aug 07 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Aug 08 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Aug 09 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, Aug 10 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, Aug 11 2024 Noon - 5:00pm
Wed, Aug 14 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, Aug 15 2024 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri, Aug 16 2024 11:00am - 5:00pm

Captivating Clay: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics from the Horvitz Collection

Today, Japanese ceramic artists are building on centuries of tradition and taking the art in dynamic and new directions. They are exploring the potential of clay to create both functional and abstract sculptural forms with an incredible range of surface textures and decoration. The aesthetic sensibilities are varied, from rough and imperfect to detailed and refined, but all show a mastery of the craft.

Drawn from the renowned collection of Carol and Jeffrey Horvitz—including recent gifts from them to the museum—this exhibition presents more than thirty artworks spanning eight decades. Traditionally a craft restricted to men, in recent years women have become some of the leading voices in the field and several examples are included.

Artists range from innovative pioneers in the twentieth century, several designated as Living National Treasures in Japan, to emerging, younger artists. Interspersed are examples from the DAI’s collection of historic Japanese ceramics. Across 2,000 years, these speak to the long history of the art in the island nation and their continued inspiration for artists today.

Featured Image: Katsumata Chieko (Japanese, born 1950), Untitled, 2009, stoneware with orange and green glazes, 13 ¾ x 15 x 15 inches. Carol and Jeffrey Horvitz Collection. Photo: Ben Bocko.

Dayton Art Institute

Captivating Clay: Contemporary Japanese Ceramics from the Horvitz Collection is taking place at Dayton Art Institute, which is located at 456 Belmonte Park North in Dayton. Dayton Art Institute - Committed to enriching the community by creating meaningful experiences with art that are available to all. Visit us often to enjoy our diverse collections, world class exhibits and more.

Dayton Events Calendar

While we strive to provide accurate and up-to-date information on Dayton Local, we cannot guarantee its completeness or absence of errors. Your use of this website signifies your acceptance of our terms & conditions. To report any inaccuracies or provide feedback, please send us a note. Thank you.